by Bill Pearis

unspeakable practices

Kid Millions (Oneida, Man Forever, Soldiers of Fortune, and more) and acclaimed writer Rick Moody (The Ice Storm) became friends and decided to form a musical project they call The Unspeakable Practices. The group also features experimental trumpet player Nate Wooley, bassists Brad Truax (ex-Spiritualized, Interpol) and Richard Hoffman (Sightings), guitarist Shahin Motia (Ex Models, Oneida), organ player David Grubbs (Squirrel Bait, Gastr Del Sol), and saxophone player Michael Foster. The band's self-titled debut album is out this week (11/6) via Joyful Noise which began life as improvisational sessions that were later shaped into proper songs.

A group of players like this bring a lot of heavy skronk, dissonant noise, and krauty/jazzy rhythms, with Moody's vocals and lyrics an integral part of the mix. Moody says:

It was really important to me to be reactive with respect to the amazing musicians I was working with. It was, in fact, important for me to be IN the band, not separate from the band. Another instrument in the orchestra, rather than something fused onto the music. Not lyrics in front, and music behind, but all one instrument.

You can hear the entire The Unspeakable Pratices album right now -- a stream of the whole album makes its premiere in this post. Check it out below.

The Unspeakable Practices will play a record release show at Brooklyn's Secret Project Robot on Friday (11/6) with a slightly different lineup than on the LP:

Rick Moody - vocals
Kid Millions - Drums (Oneida, Man Forever)
Richard Hoffman - bass (Sightings)
Brad Truax - bass (Interpol, Soldiers of Fortune)
Shahin Motia - guitar (Oneida, Ex Models)
David Grubbs - organ (Gastr del Sol and infinity)
Michael Foster - sax
Jaimie Branch - trumpet

Greg Fox and Invisible Circle are also on the bill, plus it's Kid Millions' birthday. $10 at the door.


More From Brooklyn Vegan