Back in 2016, Kim Gordon released the very good solo single "Murdered Out," which was the most "rock" song she released since Sonic Youth broke up and it got us very excited about the idea that she might be doing a whole solo album in this style. Last year, she broke the news that she was indeed working on a solo album and that she expected it to be out in 2019, and now it has finally been announced!

Kim's first-ever solo album is called No Home Record and due out October 11 via Matador (pre-order). It includes "Murdered Out" as well as the just-released "Sketch Artist." This one's got a slightly more eerie vibe than "Murdered Out," and it comes with a video that was directed by Loretta Fahrenholz and features a cameo from Broad City's Abbi Jacobson. Check it out below.

The album was produced by Justin Raisen (who's also worked with Angel Olsen, Marissa Nadler, and more), and it also has production work by Shawn Everett (The War On Drugs, Perfume Genius, etc) and Jake Meginsky. As mentioned previously, "Murdered Out" features drums by Stella Mozgawa of Warpaint, and Kim also used a drum machine on parts of the album like she did when she first started playing music in the early 1980s.

1 Sketch Artist
2 Air Bnb
3 Paprika Pony
4 Murdered Out
5 Don’t Play It
6 Cookie Butter
7 Hungry Baby
8 Earthquake
9 Get Your Life Back

More From Brooklyn Vegan