Scottish singer-songwriter King Creosote has produced over 50 albums since his debut in 1998. Beginning by self-releasing CD-Rs on his own label, Fence, KC eventually signed to Domino Records, racking up a Mercury Prize nom for his 2011 collaborative album with Jon Hopkins, Diamond Mine.

King Creosote's new album is titled Astronaut Meets Appleman and will be out September 2 via Domino. The follow up to the soundtrack to 2014's From Scotland with Love soundtrack, Appleman is KC's attempt to create a more open and expansive sound, making room for an ensemble of players that includes Catriona McKay (harp), Mairearad Green (bagpipes), Gordon Maclean (double bass), Hannah Fisher (violin, vocals), Sorren Maclean (guitar, vocals) and Pete Harvey (cello), alongside KC's mainstays.

“I wanted to push myself songwriting-wise, so I went in with hardly anything and had to wing it,” KC says. “I wanted to try and flip the clock all the way back to sound like a younger me – or a less cynical me. In the past, I've been fixated on twisting and wrenching every line, but here I've let that go a bit, and I hope that lets you concentrate more on the music; on what’s going on around it.”

Astronaut Meets Appleman's first single, "You Just Want,"  begins as tight folk-rock led by KC's anguished lyrics (sample line:"When you need someone to cry on in the depths of despair/ I shall be elsewhere"), but across its seven and a half minutes unravels organically into orchestral ambiance. Listen below.

The album will be released as a one-press-only deluxe vinyl edition with exclusive etched 10”, alongside standard LP, CD and digital formats (preorder available now). Check out the album art and tracklist below.

Astronaut Meets Appleman Tracklist:
01. You Just Want
02. Melin Wynt
03. Wake Up To This
04. Faux Call
05. Betelgeuse
06. Love Life
07. Peter Rabbit Tea
08. Surface
09. Rules of Engagement