Since the departure of longtime Kvelertak frontman Erlend Hjelvik, they've been playing shows with new singer Ivar Nioklaisen (whose bands Silver and The Good, the Bad and the Zugly have toured with Kvelertak, and who sang backup on Kvelertak's "Blodtorst"), and now they've released their first new song with him. It's called "Bråtebrann," and between the band's trademark riffage, their trademark backing vocal harmonies, and Ivar's ability to fit right in with his new bandmates, it still sounds very much like a Kvelertak song. It's also a ripper. Listen below.

"Bråtebrann" is also the first taste of Kvelertak's upcoming album Splid, which will be the band's first album for Rise Records, and which reunites them with producer Kurt Ballou of Converge, who also helmed the first two Kvelertak albums. It drops February 14 via their new label home (pre-order). That's the artwork above and you can check out the tracklist (including a song featuring Mastodon's Troy Sanders) below.

They've also got a Europe/UK 2020 tour coming up. All dates on the poster below.

1. Rogaland
2. Crack of Doom (ft. Troy Sanders of Mastodon)
3. Necrosoft
4. Discord
5. Bråtebrann
6. Uglas Hegemoni
7. Fanden Ta Dette Hull!
8. Tevling
9. Stevnemøte med Satan
10. Delirium Tremens
11. Ved bredden av Nihil

Kvelertak tour

More From Brooklyn Vegan