Chicago-based songwriter Lillie West self-released her debut album as Lala Lala, Sleepyhead, in 2016, and now she's preparing to follow it with her first for Hardly Art, The Lamb, due out September 28. Following the release of Sleepyhead, she toured with Cherry Glazerr, Girlpool, Frankie Cosmos and Chastity Belt, among others, and started writing the songs that make up the new album. "The Lamb was written during a time of intense paranoia after a home invasion, deaths of loved ones and general violence around me and my friends," Lillie says. "I started to frequently and vividly imagine the end of the world, often becoming too frightened to leave my house. This led me to spend a lot of time examining my relationships and the choices I’d made, often wondering if they were correct and/or kind."

"Destroyer," the first track Lala Lala have shared off The Lamb, starts off with a slightly grungy guitar riff and the Lillie's low, measured voice before bursting into an impassioned chorus of layered vocals. It's a clear step up from the songs on her first album - find the video for it below, along with the full tracklist for The Lamb.

Lala Lala have announced a few upcoming tour dates this summer, including two dates with LVL UP and one with WHY?. See all of their upcoming dates below.

The Lamb Tracklist
1. Destroyer
2. Spy
3. Water Over Sex
4. I Get Cut
5. Dove
6. Dropout
7. The Flu
8. Copycat
9. Scary Movie
10. Moth
11. When You Die
12. See You at Home

Lala Lala - 2018 Tour Dates
Aug 29 The Garrison Toronto, ON (w/LVL UP)
Aug 30 Mahall's Locker Room Lakewood, OH (w/LVL UP)
Aug 31 The Woodward Theater Cincinnati, OH (w/WHY?)

More From Brooklyn Vegan