Lavender Country, led by Patrick Haggerty, released what's widely considered the first openly gay country music album in 1973. They've now returned with a follow-up, Blackberry Rose, due out February 18 via Don Giovanni Records. See the cover art and tracklist below.

The first single is a reimagined version of Lavender Country's classic 1973 track "I Can't Shake The Stranger Out Of You." The new version is a little lighter on the fiddle (without losing it entirely) and gets some updated production and a warm, wistful sound. Hear it, and the original, below.

Lavender Country - Blackberry Rose

Lavender Country - Blackberry Rose Tracklist
1. I Can't Shake The Stranger Out Of You
2. Gay Bar Blues
3. Leave All Disillusions Behind
4. Red Dress
5. Sweet Shadow Man
6. Clara Fraser, Clara Fraser
7. Lament Of A Wyoming Housewife
8. Blackberry Rose
9. Stand On Your Man
10. Don't Buy Her No More Roses

More From Brooklyn Vegan