Providence noise rock vets Lightning Bolt are releasing their seventh album and first in four years, Sonic Citadel, on October 11 via Thrill Jockey (pre-order). It includes song titles like "Van Halen 2049," "Don Henley In The Park," and "Hüsker Dön’t," and Thrill Jockey says the duo "have done the daring, stripping away some of the distortion mask to reveal the naked pop forms of their songs as never before." You can definitely hear that on lead single "Air Conditioning," which is still more distorted than your average rock band, but is more of a straight-up punk or even hard rock song at heart, and not at all in a bad way. Listen and check out the full tracklist below. That's the artwork above.

As mentioned, Lightning Bolt also have some shows coming up, including NYC's 99 Scott Ave Open Air on September 14 with Baby; Baby and Murderpact (tickets), Denver Hex, Desert Daze, and more. All dates are listed below.

1. Blow To The Head
2. USA Is A Psycho
3. Air Conditioning
4. Hüsker Dön't
5. Big Banger
6. Halloween 3
7. Don Henley In The Park
8. Tom Thump
9. Bouncy House
10. All Insane
11. Van Halen 2049

Lightning Bolt — 2019 Tour Dates
9/6 Denver Hex Denver, CO
9/14 Open Air at 99 Scott Ave Brooklyn, NY
10/10-13 Desert Daze Lake Perris, CA
12/6 Ottobar Baltimore, MD

More From Brooklyn Vegan