On his new album Construction Time & Demolition, Wreckless Eric looks at the ravages of time and progress. "Gateway to Europe" serves as both an opener to the album but also the beginning of Eric's story - "the start of something big" -- played as a heroic anthem, bursting with horns and soaring backing vocals. Eric tells us more:

In the early 1970s when I was an art student in Kingston upon Hull, Britain joined the European Union. A bridge was built spanning the Humber Estuary, connecting Hull with an area of outstanding nothingness called Lincolnshire. Houses were demolished, docks were filled in and Hull became Hull, Gateway To Europe. The city never recovered. I formed a band and left town.

"Gateway to Europe" premieres in this post and you can stream it below.

Construction Time & Demolition will be out March 30 and Wreckless Eric will be on tour soon, including a NYC show at Berlin on May 3 (tickets). He's a real entertainer, lots of stories, lots of great songs (including his most famous, "Whole Wide World"), and you should definitely catch him if he's playing near you. Dates are listed below.

---

Wreckless Eric – 2018 Tour Dates
Wednesday 11 April The Baby G, Toronto, ON, Canada
Thursday 12 April Third Man Records – Detroit Storefront, Detroit, MI, US
Friday 13 April The Burlington, Chicago, IL, US
Saturday 14 April Monnik Beer Co., Louisville, KY, US
Sunday 15 April River Series at Harbor Town Amphitheater, Memphis, TN, US
Wednesday 18 April fond object downtown, Nashville, TN, US
Saturday 21 April War Mouth, Columbia, SC, US
Sunday 22 April Pilot Light, Knoxville, TN, US
Monday 23 April Local 506, Chapel Hill, NC, US
Tuesday 24 April Jammin’ Java, Vienna, VA, US
Wednesday 25 April Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia, PA, US
Thursday 26 April Ottobar, Baltimore, MD, US
Thursday 03 May Berlin, New York, NY, US
Wednesday 09 May Gullivers, Manchester, UK
Thursday 10 May Barnoldswick Music & Arts Centre, Barnoldswick, UK
Friday 11 May O’Riley’s, Hull, UK
Saturday 12 May Old Cinema Launderette, Durham, UK
Sunday 13 May Clarks on Lindsay Street, Dundee, UK
Monday 14 May The Hug and Pint, Glasgow, UK
Thursday 17 May Marr’s Bar, Worcester, UK
Friday 18 May The Thunderbolt, Bristol, UK
Saturday 19 May The Fox & Newt, Leeds, UK
Monday 21 May J2, Cambridge Junction, Cambridge, UK
Wednesday 23 May Prince Albert, Brighton, UK
Thursday 24 May 100 Club, London, UK
Friday 25 May Colchester Arts Centre, Colchester, UK
Saturday 26 May Ramsgate Music Hall, Ramsgate, UK
Sunday 27 May The Musician Pub, Leicester, UK