This year marks the 25th anniversary of Liz Phair's classic album Exile in Guyville, and to celebrate she's reissuing the album along with her three Girly-Sound cassettes she put out in 1991. It's all part of the Girly-Sound To Guyville: The 25th Anniversary Boxset which will be released by Matador on May 4. It includes:

  • 7 LPS, comprised of: EXILE IN GUYVILLE (double remastered LP), and the three pre-Exile Girly-Sound cassettes, restored from the original tapes and never before commercially released in their entirety: YO YO BUDDY YUP YUP WORD TO YA MUTHA (double LP, restored from Girly-Sound cassette 1), GIRLS! GIRLS! GIRLS! (double LP, restored from Girly-Sound cassette 2), and SOOTY (single LP, restored from Girly-Sound cassette 3).
  • An extensive book with:
  • An oral history by Jason Cohen, featuring interviews with: Chris Brokaw, Gerard Cosloy, John Henderson, Chris Holmes, Tutti Jackson, Nash Kato, Mark Ohe, Liz Phair, Casey Rice, Brad Wood, Tae Won Yu.
  • “You Might Be A Lucky Star" – essay by Liz Phair
  • “Talking Back In Guyville" – essay by Ann Powers
  • Never before published photos
  • Unseen artwork and ephemera

You can listen to the Giry-Sound version of "Divorce Song" which would end up, rerecorded on Exile in Guyville, below. You can also check out the box set packaging and tracklist below. Exile in Guyville, which is pressed on double vinyl, will be available separately, and there's a version of the box that includes exact reproductions of the three Girly-Sound cassettes. Pre-orders are available now.

Additionally, Liz will support the release with a short tour in June where she will, for the first time, only perform songs from the Girly-Sound Tapes. The tour includes a date at Brooklyn's National Sawdust on 6/7. That's during the 2018 Northside Festival but whether it's actually part of it remains to be seen (but probably). Tickets will be on sale soon. The full list of tour dates is below.

OLE-1305_Liz Phair_Girly-Sound To Guyville

Exile In Guyville - Tracklisting:
(Double LP, remastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge)

1. 6’1”
2. Help Me Mary
3. Glory
4. Dance Of The Seven Veils
5. Never Said
6. Soap Star Joe
7. Explain It To Me
8. Canary
9. Mesmerizing
10. Fuck and Run
11. Girls! Girls! Girls!
12. Divorce Song
13. Shatter
14. Flower
15. Johnny Sunshine
16. Gunshy
17. Stratford-On- Guy
18. Strange Loop

Yo Yo Buddy Yup Yup Word To Ya Mutha
(Double LP, restored from Girly-Sound Cassette 1)
(Restoration by Dave Cooley at Elysian Masters)
(Mastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge)

1. White Babies
2. Shane
3. 6 Dick Pimp
4. Divorce Song
5. Go West
6. Don’t Holdyrbreath
7. Johnny Sunshine
8. Miss Lucy
9. Elvis Song
10. Dead Shark
11. One Less Thing
12. Money
13. In Love w/Yself
Girls! Girls! Girls! - Tracklisting
(Double LP, restored from Girly-Sound Cassette 2)
(Restoration by Dave Cooley at Elysian Masters)
(Mastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge)

1. Hello Sailor
2. Wild-Thing
3. Fuck And Run
4. Easy Target
5. Soap Star Joe
6. Ant In Alaska
8. Polyester Bride
9. Thrax
10. Miss Mary Mack
11. Clean
12. Love Song
13. Valentine
Sooty - Tracklisting:
(Single LP, restored from Girly-Sound Cassette 3)
(Restoration by Dave Cooley at Elysian Masters)
(Mastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge)

1. Gigolo
2. Flower
3. Batmobile
4. Slave
5. Open Season
6. Suckerfish
7. California
8. South Dakota
9. Bomb
10. Easy
11. Chopsticks

The Girly-Sound to Guyville Tour Dates:
5/31 - Los Angeles, CA - Masonic Lodge
6/1 - San Francisco, CA - Swedish American Hall
6/2 - Seattle, WA - Crocodile
6/4 - Minneapolis, MN - Turf Club
6/6 - Boston, MA - Sinclair
6/7 - Brooklyn, NY - National Sawdust
6/8 - Wichita, KS - Wichita Riverfest
6/9 - Chicago, IL - Empty Bottle

More From Brooklyn Vegan