Lou Barlow is reissuing his 2005 solo debut under his own name, Emoh, on July 31 via Merge, and this will be its first-ever North American vinyl release. "Emoh was released in January 2005, within a day or two of my first child, Hannelore, being born," writes Lou in a statement about the reissue. "I put my real name on it, and it felt like the beginning of a new, more confident era. At the same time, I was asked to rejoin Dinosaur Jr, so, instead of spending the next year touring in support of Emoh, I started a Dinosaur Jr reunion that continues to this day. It was a bittersweet decision because my LP was warmly received and seemed to point to a self-reliant future."

He continues: "Though Emoh was a positive step forward for me, listening to it now, I realize the songs clearly track the slow dissolution of my first marriage, the fatal break of several partnerships, and my struggle to acclimate to living in LA. That I was able to describe my decline in such detail then hand it out to friends and family members as my 'comeback' LP kind of amazes me now."

The Emoh reissue will be on double vinyl in a gatefold sleeve and comes with a bonus digital download of eight rare demos from the era. Pre-orders are available now and you can stream the album, and check out the reissue tracklist, below.

Meanwhile, Lou will be doing an Emoh-centric livestream today, playing songs from the album and talking about the reissue from his home in Western Massachusetts. That's at 4 PM Eastern via Lou's Instagram. Lou says that in the coming weeks he'll do similar livestreams for LPs by Sebadoh, Folk Implosion, and Dinosaur Jr albums.

Speaking of Dinosaur Jr, Lou played a song from the band's new album, which he says is done, on a livestream in May.

Lou Barlow - Emoh reissue tracklist:
1. Holding Back the Year
2. Home
3. Caterpillar Girl
4. Legendary
5. Royalty
6. Puzzle
7. If I Could
8. Monkey Begun
9. Morning's After Me
10. Round-N-Round
11. Mary
12. Confused
13. Imagined Life
14. The Ballad of Daykitty
15. Finger (Demo)
16. Helpless (Demo)
17. Legendary (Demo)
18. Puzzle (Demo)
19. Home (Demo)
20. If I Could (Demo)
21. Mary (Demo)
22. Confused (Demo)