by Andrew Sacher


The Smiths' groundbreaking self-titled debut album turned 30 last week (2/20), and in honor of that Reimagine Music will be releasing a tribute album called Tease Torment Tantalize: A 30th Anniversary Tribute To The Smiths' Debut on March 24 (pre-order). The album features covers by Male Bonding, Kevin Devine, Soft Metals, Field Mouse, Seapony, Jaymay, Blackbird Blackbird, Mother Falcon, Young Statues, Heidemann and more. Full tracklist (including three bonus tracks) below.

We've got the premiere of British punks Male Bonding's take on "Still Ill" Vocally, Male Bonding do their best Morrissey for this and keep some of Johnny Marr's guitar lines, but they otherwise turn it into a driving lo-fi jam not unlike the stuff on their own albums. Listen below.

Male Bonding have also presumably/hopefully been teasing album #3 by dropping a couple recent singles to their Soundcloud. You can stream those below as well.


Male Bonding - "Still Ill" (Smiths Cover)

Tease Torment Tantalize Tracklist:
1. Kevin Devine - "Reel around the Fountain" (6:02)
2. Mother Falcon - "You've Got Everything Now"(5:36)
3. Field Mouse - "Miserable Lie" (2:47)
4. Jaymay - "Pretty Girls Make Graves" (2:51)
5. Blackbird Blackbird - "The Hand That Rocks the Cradle" (1:43)
6. Brothertiger - "This Charming Man"(3:27)
7. Male Bonding - "Still Ill" (3:13)
8. Faded Paper Figures - "Hand in Glove" (3:16)
9. Seapony - "What Difference Does It Make?" (3:43)
10. The Night VI - "I Don't Owe You Anything"(3:44)
11. Soft Metals - "Suffer Little Children" (5:24)

Bonus Tracks:

12. Young Statues - "Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want" (2:14)
13. Heidemann - "Bigmouth Strikes Again"(3:06)
14. Our Broken Garden - "I Don't Owe You Anything" (5:22)


Male Bonding - "Falling" (new song)

Male Bonding - "A Kick to the Face" (new song)

More From Brooklyn Vegan