Manchester's Proto Idiot make sneering, shambolic, distinctly Brit-variety garage rock that's like a sonic two-finger-salute in everyone's direction. (Think early Who and Kinks filtered through Television Personalities and The Fall.) Following previous releases on Trouble in Mind, Slovenly and OddBox, Proto Idiot will release new album For Dummies via Bad Paintings on May 27. (Pre-orders are up now.) New single is "Better Version of Me" and the video for that finds the band on a treasure hunt. For what? You'll have to watch -- the video premieres below.

The band will be on a UK tour soon. All dates are listed, along with album art, tracklist, new video and the LP's opening cut "Idiot Blues," below.

Proto Idiot - Music For Dummies tracklist
1. Idiot Blues
2. Real Boy
3. Try Failing
4. Add It Up
5. Better Version Of Me
6. Influence
7. We Were Here
8. Razor's Edge
9. I've Been Asleep For Years
10. The Old Ways
11. I'll Never Know
12. Crisis After Crisis
13. You Don't Understand It

Proto Idiot - 2016 Tour Dates
May 13th - Eagle Inn, Manchester
May 26th - VegCafe, London
June 2nd - Troubadour, Falmouth
June 18th - Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
June 23rd* - Ruby Lounge, Manchester*
June 25th - Leaf, Liverpool*
June 26th - The Crescent, York*
June 29th - Jazz Café, London*
July 1st - The Empire, Coventry*
July 4th - Komedia, Brighton*
* supporting LOVE