by Andrew Sacher

Maps For Travelers

Kansas City's Maps For Travelers have gained some well-deserved comparisons to Quicksand (they also name them as an influence), and it's an apt namedrop considering both bands share a knack for combining the heavy intensity of post-hardcore with the melodicism of alternative rock. Something like the screams in the intro of "Get a New Face" imply a hardcore/punk background, but the riffing in "Matter Of Time" comes ready to fill stadiums in a way Siamese Dream-era Billy Corgan would have been proud of. The band's debut album, Change Your Name, comes out via No Sleep Records this week (8/27), and you can now listen to a stream of the entire thing, which makes its premiere in this post. Check it out below.


Change Your Name

01. Good Life
02. Life On Repeat
03. Matter Of Time
04. Get a New Face
05. Swoon
06. World On a Wire
07. 456
08. Figures In White
09. All Your Friends
10. They're Learning Fast


More From Brooklyn Vegan