It's been a while since we've heard from Frank Maston, the psych-pop composer who released Shadows in early 2013 and also toured as part of Jacco Gardner's band. (He's also currently producing solo projects for members of the Allah-Las.) Having now started his own label, Phonoscope, Maston will release his new album, Tulips, on October 27. He made the record in Holland (where the tulips grow) and it owes a distinct sonic debt to Italian soundtrack music, such as the exotica-tinged scores of Ennio Morricone, while still bearing the influence of his West Coast origins (think the instrumentals on Pet Sounds). Do you like it groovy with a side of baroque harpsichord? Take a whiff of these Tulips.

We've got the premiere of the first single, "Swans." The video, made by Maston and shot in Holland, looks like it was made for public television in 1967. Watch that below.

You can preorder Tulips now on vinyl or digitally. Check out the artwork and tracklist below.



Maston - Tulips tracklist:
1 - Swans
2 - New Danger
3 - Old Habits
4 - Chase Theme I
5 - Infinite Bliss
6 - Evening
7 - Rain Dance
8 - Sure Thing
9 - Garçon Manqué
10 - Turning In
11 - Chase Theme II
12 - Hues

More From Brooklyn Vegan