by Andrew Sacher


Matana Roberts will release the next album in her Coin Coin series, Coin Coin Chapter Three: River Run Thee, on February 3 via Constellation. While Matana's roots are in jazz, and she does have free jazz sax noodling sprinkled throughout the record, it's nothing you'd need to be a genre expert to appreciate. Her spoken word, drifting singing voice, and otherworldly atmospheres have more in common with the experimental pop of Laurie Anderson or Julia Holter than what traditionally comes to mind when you hear the word "jazz." Take a listen to two tracks, "Always Say Your Name" / "Nema, Nema, Nema," below.

Matana will celebrate the new album with a release show in NYC, happening Febraury 3 at Union Pool with Rain Machine (the solo project of Kyp Malone from TVOTR) and Ryan Sawyer & Nate Wooley. Tickets are on sale.


Coin Coin Chapter Three: River Run Thee Tracklist:
01. all is written
02. the good book says
03. clothed to the land, worn by the sea
04. dreamer of dreams
05. always say your name
06. nema, nema, nema
07. a single man o'war
08. as years roll by
09. this land is yours
10. come away
11. with me seek
12. j.p.

More From Brooklyn Vegan