Experimental duo Matmos (aka M.C. Schmidt and Drew Daniel) have announced The Consuming Flame: Open Exercises in Group Form, a new triple album that will be out August 21 via Thrill Jockey. The album features contributions from Yo La Tengo, Oneohtrix Point Never, Mouse on Mars, clipping, Max Tundra, JG Thirlwell, Colin Self, Giant Swan, Marisa Anderson, Matthew Herbert, Kate Soper, Jennifer Walshe, David Grubbs (Squirrel Bait, Gastr del Sol), members of Pig Destroyer, Sutekh Hexen and Locrian, and more.

In total, 99 musicians contribute across the three discs, all of whom were given only one instruction: they could play whatever they wanted but it had to be at 99 beats per minute. To quote the album's press materials, "The resulting album is a three-hour long assemblage that travels across a shifting kaleidoscope of genre, mood and density, all synchronized to a constant underlying tempo." The album, which was designed to be listened to as one piece, comes with a fold-out poster that "visually tracks the exact timing of each of the 99 guest musician's contributions through color coded bars." You can check out that poster below.

M.C. Schmidt describes The Consuming Flame as “very much like a train ride at an amusement park: the tempo is the train that pulls you through a lot of different fantastic scenes and locations. Sometimes you listen to the sound of the train tracks and sometimes you are immersed in a space.”

You can get a small taste of The Consuming Flame via a three-minute chunk called "No Concept" that features clipping. and David Grubbs. Stream that below.

Meanwhile, Matmos' Drew Daniel recently released new The Soft Pink Truth album Shall We Go On Sinning So That Grace May Increase? which is out now digitally and comes out on vinyl and CD on July 24. You can stream that below as well.

matmos the consuming flame

Matmos - The Consuming Flame: Open Exercises in Group Form

The Consuming Flame poster & contributor timeline

More From Brooklyn Vegan