by Andrew Sacher

Matt Pryor

Matt Pryor and James Dewees, both of veteran emo band The Get Up Kids, are teaming up to release a collaborative three-song EP on September 30 via Equal Vision imprint Rory Records. The EP's first single, "Failing You," sounds more like a Get Up Kids tune than the folkier stuff Matt was doing with his solo project and The New Amsterdams, and it's a welcome post-reunion endeavor following TGUK's very good 2010 comeback album, These Are Rules. The new song makes its premiere in this post, and it can be streamed, along with the album artwork, below.

Matt is also releasing a new solo LP, Wrist Slitter, on November 12 via Rory Records, and this December he'll be heading out on an acoustic tour with Max Bemis (Rory labelhead and Say Anything frontman), Perma, Sherri DuPree-Bemis, and Merriment. That tour hits NYC on December 12 at The Studio at Webster Hall. Tickets for that show are on sale now.

All dates are listed, along with the track stream and artwork, below...


Matt Pryor & James Dewees - "Failing You"

Matt Pryor James Dewees

Matt Pryor -- 2013 Tour Dates
Dec 4 - Lincoln Hall - Chicago, IL
Dec 5 - The Shelter - Detroit, MI
Dec 6 - Grog Shop - Cleveland Heights, OH
Dec 7 - Mr Smalls Theatre - Millvale, PA
Dec 8 - Ottobar - Baltimore, MD
Dec 10 - Brighton Music Hall - Boston, MA
Dec 11 - The Space - Hamden, CT
Dec 12 - Studio at Webster Hall - New York, NY
Dec 13 - Asbury Lanes - Asbury Park, NJ
Dec 14 - World Cafe Live - Wilmington, DE
Dec 16 - Local 506 - Chapel Hill, NC
Dec 17 - The Masquerade - Atlanta, GA
Dec 18 - The Social - Orlando, FL
Dec 20 - Warehouse Live - Houston, TX
Dec 21 - Stubb's BBQ - Austin, TX
Dec 22 - Club Dada - Dallas, TX

all dates w/ Max Bemis, Perma, Sherri DuPree-Bemis, Merriment


More From Brooklyn Vegan