Australia's School Damage, who share members with Ausmuteants, Chook Race and other Melbourne groups, are clearly fond of playing with their food. You may remember their attempts at baking in "The Bus That Couldn’t Slow Down" and now they're spelling things with their cereal in the animated video for "Assimilate." It's the first single off their forthcoming sophomore album, A to X. That video, directed by Alex McLaren and Sean McAnulty, premieres in this post and the group's Carolyn Hawkins tell us a little about it and the song:

They immediately had such great ideas for the aesthetic of the video - composite drawings, mix and matching faces, old cereal commercials, even Sesame Street - kind of surreal monochromatic imagery. The song is about the feeling of feeling confused and conflicted about who I am and what my values are, so the idea of fragmented, mismatched and constantly rearranging faces and letters seemed inline with that visually.

The video is indeed inline with the songs themes and School Damage's askew, discordant but catchy brand of pop. Check that out below.

A to X will be out August 31 via Chapter Music. School Damage will tour Australia in September and those dates are listed below.

School Damage - A to X tracklist:
1. Assimilate
2. Psychick Damage
3. Meeting Halfway
4. Isn’t Easy
5. Aways Right
6. Forgetting Song
7. Back Seat
8. City Streets
9. All Gone
10. In Love With A Chump
11. Oz Lotto
12. Two Friends
13. Mad About Ed
14. What’s The Point
15. Xmas Song

School Damage - 2018 Tour Dates
Fri Sep 14 - Melbourne - Woody's Bar
Fri Sep 21 - Sydney - Vic on the Park
Sat Sep 22- Wollongong - The Servo (afternoon show)
Sat Sep 22 - Canberra - Polish club
Sun Sep 23 - Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Sat Sep 29 - Hobart - The Brisbane Hotel
Fri Oct 12 -Castlemaine - The Bridge Hotel
Sat Oct 13 - Geelong - Barwon Club
Sun Oct 14 - Rye - Bahas
Fri Oct 19 - Brisbane - Bloodhound Bar
Sat Oct 20 - Ipswich -Bad Habit Records