The shortlist of nominees for the 2019 Mercury Prize, an award for the best UK or Irish album of the past year, has been announced and includes The 1975's A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships, slowthai's Nothing Great About Britain, black midi's Schlagenheim, Little Simz's GREY area, Dave's Psychodrama, Foals' Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost Part 1, Nao's Saturn, IDLES' Joy as an Act of Resistance, Anna Calvi's Hunter, Cate Le Bon's Reward, Fontaines DC's Dogrel, and SEED Ensemble's Driftglass.

The winner will be chosen by a panel of British music critics and industry professionals, and will be revealed at the Awards Show, which takes place September 19 at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

Last year's winner was Wolf Alice, who beat out Arctic Monkeys, King Krule, Noel Gallagher, Florence + the Machine, and others.

Speaking of The 1975, who are touring the US this fall, they just released the first song off their upcoming album Notes on a Conditional Form. Like the opening tracks of their other three albums, it's called "The 1975," but unlike those songs, it doesn't feature the same lyrics. It instead features teenage Swedish climate change activist Greta Thunberg. Listen below.

More From Brooklyn Vegan