Miguel took the role as lead singer while Arcade Fire's Win Butler played back-up and musical support. John Oates played band leader alongside legendary musicians responsible for some of MoTown's greatest hits. They played a fanciful series of covers, ranging in every style and era, from “Hotline Bling” to “Rebel Rebel” and “Iko, Iko.” As a resident of Canada, Butler kept poking fun at American politics. He invited Okeechobee attendees to join him across the northern border when Trump becomes president, lauding the wonderful health care system and inclusivity to Muslims, Mexicans, and more. The band jammed for a couple of hours, eventually joined by Pittsburgh rapper Mac Miller and Skrillex's Sonny Moore on guitar. When his guitar broke, he focused more on being a back-up dancer. The atmosphere was jovial, the only serious thing about it being the incredible level of musicianship. [Broward Palm Beach New Times]

Florida's inaugural Okeechobee Music & Arts Festival went down over the weekend. It's produced by some of the makers of Bonnaroo, and like that festival does, it had a big jam with a bunch of famous musicians, including Arcade Fire's Win Butler, Miguel, Kamasi Washington, John Oates, Skrillex, Mumford & Sons and more. As the review above points out, they did a bunch of covers, including Drake's "Hotline Bling," The Rolling Stones' "Sympathy for the Devil," David Bowie's "Fame" and "Rebel Rebel," and more. Check out a video of the Drake cover, the setlist, and a few more pictures below.


Win Butler - vocals
John Oates - vocals/guitar
Miguel - vocals
Zigaboo Modeliste - drums/vocals
Chris Karns - DJ
Ben Jaffe - tuba/bass
Charlie Gabriel - sax/clarinet
Rickie Monie - piano
Ronnell Johnson - trombone
Walter Harris - drums
Mark Braud - trumpet
Clint Maedgen - sax
Eric Krasno - guitar
Neal Evans - piano/synth/organ
Kamasi Washington - sax
George Porter, Jr. - bass
Skrillex - guitar/DJ
Marcus Mumford - vocals/guitar
Winston Marshall - guitar
Ben Lovett - keys
Mac Miller - rapper
Jason Romane Edmond - percussion
Willonson Duprate - percussion

Kashmir (instrumental)
Inner City Blues - feat Miguel
Fame - feat Win Butler
Rebel Rebel - feat Win Butler
Night People - group
Iko Iko - featuring George Porter, Jr.
People Say - feat Zigaboo Modeliste
Ohio/Machine Gun - group
I Can't Go For That - feat John Oates
Hotline Bling - feat Miguel
Sympathy for the Devil - feat Win Butler
Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough - group w/Mac Miller

Rock the Casbah - group w/Mumford & Sons
Let's Groove - group w/Skrillex

More From Brooklyn Vegan