Greg Saunier & Liam Finn @ the Rock Shop (photo by David Wexler)
Liam Finn

Tonight (1/30) is your last change to catch Liam Finn at the Rock Shop, for now at least. Tickets are still on sale.

Finn cruised through two sets (see full setlists for each below), the first as just a man with his looping pedals while on the second he was joined by his brother Elroy on the drums and Jol Mulholland on the bass. In the first set Finn showed off his skills both behind the drums and on guitar, masterfully looping each instrument to create an astonishing amount of sound for one man.

The first set featured songs mostly from his solo debut I'll Be Lightning and his Champagne In Seashells EP, but Finn was also able to work out "Chase The Seasons" off of 2011's FOMO for the first time ever in concert (see video below). For the last two songs of set #1 (as well as a between songs jam) Finn was joined on stage by Wilco's Mikael Jorgensen. The musical chemistry between the two on "Don't Even Know Your Name" and "Lead Balloon" was nearly flawless even though the pair had seemingly had no previous practice time together with the songs....

Deerhoof drummer Greg Saunier, who Liam played with at the last Rock Lottery, played with Liam at the Rock Shop last week (1/23). Face melting videos from 1/9 & 1/23, and the 1/9 setlist below...

Liam Finn

DDRRUUMMSS!! (Liam Finn and Greg Saunier)

Liam Finn & Mikael Jorgensen - Lead Balloon - 1.09.12 Brooklyn, NY

Liam Finn- Cold Feet at Rock Shop Brooklyn 1/9/12

Helter Skelter and Lola - The Winks featuring Liam and Elroy Finn with Dan Ward

Liam Finn 1/9 setlist:

Set 1 (Liam and his loops):
1. Residency Jam/Foxy Lady
2. Fire In Your Belly
3. Music Moves My Feet
4. Wise Men
5. Long Way to Go
6. On Your Side
7. Chase The Seasons
8. Don't Even Know Your Name*
9. Lead Balloon*

Set 2 (w/ Elroy Finn and Jol Mulholland):
10. Energy Spent
11. Better To
12. Megumi The Milkyway Above (original by Connan Mockasin)
13. Counting Sheep (original by BARB)
14. This Place Is Killing Me
15. Cold Feet
16. My Army of Birds and Gulls (orignal by Betchadupa)
17. I'll Be Lightning/Dear Prudence
18. Second Chance
*w/ Mikael Jorgensen of Wilco