Mike Patton, of Faith No More, Mr Bungle, and more, has teamed with French composer and onetime Serge Gainsbourg collaborator Jean-Claude Vannier (who worked on Histoire de Melody Nelson) for a new project called Corpse Flower. "Jean-Claude and I met while working together on a Gainsbourg retrospective at the Hollywood Bowl in 2011," says Patton. "We bonded immediately. I could see he had a dedication and attention to detail that was relentless so the respect I had for him in my mind was magnified in person. We spoke loosely about working together in the future… and it took some time, but after a few years I contacted him and we began to ignite some sparks." The pair traded ideas and Vannier adds, "He made my music awaken with his unique perspective and interpretations of my songs. A formidable vocalist, with a sense of humor, Mike and I created a strong, beautiful and sincere collection of music, as well as a friendship." The album was made with an international cast of musicians: Smokey Hormel (Beck, Johnny Cash), Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Beck, Air, Nine Inch Nails), James Gadson (Beck, Jamie Lidell), Denys Lable, Bernard Paganotti (Magma), Daniel Ciampolini, Didier Malherbe, Léonard Le Cloarec and the Bécon Palace String Ensemble.

The Corpse Flower album is out September 13 via Ipecac and the first single "On Top Of The World" seems like a Reeses Cup combo of Patton and Vannier's sonic worlds: suave and slinky, but with Patton bellowing at the top of his lungs, "When I get to the top of the world, I'll take a shit right down on this earth!" Listen to that below.

In other news: Mike Patton wrote the theme music for AMC's upcoming television series adaptation of Joe Hill’s acclaimed supernatural horror novel, NOS4A2.

Corpse Flower tracklist:
1 Ballade C.3.3
2 Camion
3 Chansons D'Amour
4 Cold Sun Warm Beer
5 Browning
6 Hungry Ghost
7 Corpse Flower
8 Insolubles
9 On Top Of The World
10 Yard Bull
11 A Schoolgirl's Day
12 Pink and Bleue

More From Brooklyn Vegan