Louisville, KY's Miracle Drug formed last year by four hardcore veterans with the goal of playing "fresh hardcore that was influenced by the past, yet current enough to inspire people to go off." They're fronted by Bricks Avalon of '90s Staten Island bands C.R. and Phallacy, and the lineup also includes guitarist Matt Wieder of Mouthpiece, drummer Thommy Browne of By the Grace of God (who also played with Matt in The Enkindels, Automatic, and more), and bassist Jeremy Holehan who's in the current Supertouch lineup and was in a number of veteran Louisville bands including Drifts Get Deeper, Five Times Fast, Thirty-Two Frames, and more.

Last year they released their first demo, which features four songs including one ("Receiver") co-written with Jay Palumbo (of By the Grace of God, Elliott, Thirty-Two Frames, etc). The artwork was designed by Elliott/Falling Forward frontman Chris Higdon, who currently sings in Frontier(s) with Matt Wieder. The demo is indeed classic-sounding hardcore that still feels fresh, and if you like any of the members' other bands or just late '80s / early '90s hardcore in general, you're gonna like this. Stream it below or download it (for $1) at Bandcamp.

Miracle Drug just went on a short tour that ended in Chicago with Sheer Terror on Saturday (5/21) and they have more dates coming up. One is opening the second of two Silent Majority reunion shows at Brooklyn's Saint Vitus on July 3. That's a 3 PM matinee that also includes Mind Over Matter and Group Leader. Tickets go on sale today (5/23) at noon.

All dates are listed, with the demo stream, below.


Miracle Drug -- 2016 Tour Dates
7/2 Ortliebs Philadelphia, PA w/ No Escape (reunion)
7/3 Saint Vitus Brooklyn, NY w/ Silent Majority, Mind Over Matter, Group Leader
8/12-13 Summer Brawl Owensboro, KY
9/16-17 Gateway To The West Fest St. Louis, MO

More From Brooklyn Vegan