Metalcore vets Misery Signals reunited their original lineup, including lead vocalist Jesse Zaraska (who left after their 2004 debut Of Malice and the Magnum Heart) in 2014, and now they've announced their first new album with that lineup since their debut (and first album in general in seven years). It's called Ultraviolet, and it's due August 7 (pre-order). The album was mixed by former Misery Signals member Greg Thomas and TWIABP's Chris Teti and features drum production by Matt Bayles (Minus the Bear, Isis, Mastodon), guitar production by Tim Creviston, and vocal production by Greg Thomas.

The first single is "The Tempest," which has a Morgan Tedd-directed video out now. Check it out below. Guitarist Ryan Morgan says:

"The Tempest" feels like a concentrated dose of Misery Signals. I love that it crashes through with all this energy, with very little indulging. That type of songwriting economy was in my mind across this whole album. It's interesting to hear a little bit of restraint work to actually make everything bigger.

Jesse has this really clear voice, and even in his most vicious screaming the vulnerability gets through first. People will hear the record and there won't be any need for decoding the emotional content. ‘Sunlifter’ was the first song we wrote for the record and it set the tone thematically for the lyrics on the album, which came to be about ambition and striving and all the parts of ourselves that are in contradiction with each other.

Jesse adds:

It is a record that purveys a much greater sense of hope than those that preceded it, and I think that as older individuals this was important from the onset of the process. I tried to create a Misery Signals record that was lyrically more positive than the previous outings, something that I could get behind as a father. Though there still exists a fair amount of tension and darkness, there shines a great amount more light.

Misery Signals are now scheduled to tour in November with metalcore supergroup END (whose lineup includes Greg Thomas plus Counterparts' Brendan Murphy, Will Putney, and others) and Neck of the Woods, and in December with Darkest Hour (who were just announced for the Slay At Home livestream fest) and SECT. All dates are listed below.

END also put out a new song off their upcoming debut album Splinters From An Ever-Changing Face today. It's called "Fear For Me Now" and it's a ripper. Check that out below too.

Ultraviolet Tracklist
The Tempest
River King
Through Vales of Blue Fire
Old Ghosts
The Fall
Redemption Key
Cascade Locks
Some Dreams


Misery Signals -- 2020 Tour Dates
Nov 19 - Edmonton, AB - The Buckingham
Nov 20 - Edmonton, AB - The Buckingham
Nov 21 - Calgary, AB - Dicken’s Pub
Nov 22 - Regina, SK - The Exchange
Nov 23 - Winnipeg, MB - The Goodwill
Nov 24 - Minneapolis, MN - Amsterdam
Nov 25 - Iowa City, IA - Gabe’s
Nov 26 - Milwaukee, WI - X-Ray Arcade
Nov 27 - Chicago, IL - WC Social Club
Nov 28 - St. Louis, MO - Red Flag

Dec 10 - Denver, CO - The Marquis Theater
Dec 11 - Albuquerque, NM - The Launchpad
Dec 12 - Scottsdale, AZ - Pub Rock
Dec 13 - San Diego, CA - Brick By Brick
Dec 14 - Anaheim, CA - Chain Reaction
Dec 15 - Los Angeles, CA - 1720
Dec 18 - Seattle, WA - El Corazon
Dec 19 - Portland, OR - The Hawthorne Theatre
Dec 20 - Vancouver, BC - Rickshaw

More From Brooklyn Vegan