Karneef is a fixture of the Montreal music scene, having brought his multi-instrumentalist skills to Cadence Weapon, Pat Jordache and Sean Nicolas Savage. He's currently drumming in Doldrums. He makes his own music as well, an appealingly bonkers strain of hyperactive beat-sliced funk, that owes a little to Prince, Kool Keith, Aphex Twin, Max Tundra and whatever tech manual he was recently reading. His new LP is titled I'm Phoof which will be self-released on June 30. You can check out "Browser Wars" and "Same Family" from the LP below.

If you're in Montreal, you can catch Karneef open for Memory Tapes at Theatre Fairmount on Friday, May 6. It's currently his only show.


KARNEEF - I'M PHOOF tracklist
01. When You're Forced To Move On
02. Slim's Return
03. Clean Gear
04. Same Family
05. Maybe One Day
06. Browser Warez
07. I'm Leb
08. I'm The Server
09. Old School Raver
10. You're Dead
11. Princess Of The Laurentians / Prince Of Have Some More
12.Run Away

More From Brooklyn Vegan