Neil Finn (Crowded House, Split Enz) and his son, Liam, are both enormously talented singers, musicians and songwriters, and they're pooling their abilities for their first-ever collaborative album, Lightsleeper, which will be out August 24 via Inertia/[PIAS]. Those aren't the only Finns on the LP, either, as Sharon Finn -- Neil’s wife, and Liam’s mother -- plays bass on two of the songs, and Elroy Finn -- Liam’s brother -- plays drums on seven. The record also features contributions from Connan Mockasin and Mick Fleetwood.

Connan also shows up, along with Mac DeMarco, Kirin J Callinan, and Weyes Blood, in the new video for single "Back to Life." Say the fins:

We spent three hours on a Sunday afternoon dressing up and posing with some of our friends, mere mortals applying the greasepaint to escape our earthly chains,” explain Neil and Liam. “Behold, a little piece of theatre representing the way we try to summon up the gods of our songs, like Orpheus - challenging them to bring life to those loved ones who have departed. But alas, the gods seem listless and unconcerned, trapped in their own cycles of drama and intrigue.

Watch the back to life video, and check out Lightsleeper's artwork and tracklist, below.


Lightsleeper tracklist:
1. Island of Peace
2. Meet Me In The Air
3. Where's My Room
4. Anger Plays A Part
5. Listen
6. Any Other Way
7. Back To Life
8. Hiding Place
9. Ghosts
10. We Know What It Means
11. Hold Her Close

More From Brooklyn Vegan