Neurosis' Steve Von Till has announced a new solo album, along with his first-ever book, both of which are due out on August 7 via Neurot Recordings.

The album is called No Wilderness Deep Enough, and Steve made it with producer Randall Dunn, cellist Brent Arnold, and french horn player Aaron Korn. Steve says the album is "about personal longings and loss, and the loves and insecurities we all feel combined with meditations on humanity as a whole. I'm exploring the great disconnect: from the natural world, from each other, and ultimately from ourselves—trying to find meaning and depth in re-establishing those connections, to find a resonance in purpose and acknowledging the past while looking towards the future and still being in the moment."

The first single off the new LP is opening track "Dreams of Trees." It's a haunting, eerie dirge that's not a million miles away from Neurosis' softer side (or Nick Cave's recent albums), and if you like that kinda stuff, you're almost definitely gonna like this song too. Listen below.

As for the book, it's called Harvestman: 23 Untitled Poems and Collected Lyrics, and as you might have inferred from the title, it features "new poetry and lyrics from Von Till's solo career over the past 20 years." You can pre-order the album and the book here.

No Wilderness Deep Enough Tracklist
1 - Dreams of Trees
2 - The Old Straight Track
3 - Indifferent Eyes
4 - Trail the Silent Hours
5 - Shadows on the Run
6 - Wild Iron

Harvestman: 23 Untitled Poems and Collected Lyrics Table of Contents
23 Untitled Poems
As The Crow Flies
If I Should Fall to the Field
A Grave is a Grim Horse
A Life Unto Itself
No Wilderness Deep Enough

More From Brooklyn Vegan