Gazelle Twin's 'Unflesh'

Now that it's December, Best of Lists Season is in full swing. If you're already tired of seeing ones that have The War on Drugs at the top (or near it), you can always rely on UK website The Quietus to offer up something different. They just published their "Albums Of The Year 2014" and topping it is electronic artist Gazelle Twin's second album, Unflesh. Say The Quietus:

On Unflesh, Gazelle Twin - aka Elizabeth Bernholz - doesn't see dualism as an academic exercise or a philosophical plaything. Instead, it's born of bloody experience as she claws and digs her way to its gory, physical core. Puberty, anxiety, miscarriage, illness and euthanasia are all present, and Bernholz's treatment of them ranges from a shuddering disgust to vengeful catharsis to something approaching tender acceptance.

The Quietus' list is not without names familiar to readers of our site -- Swans, Scott Walker & Sunn O))), FKA twigs, Aphex Twin, Future Islands -- but it definitely does not follow the beaten path.

Check out The Quietus' full "Albums Of The Year 2014" (and stream a few songs from their #1) below...

---THE QUIETUS - ALBUMS OF 2014 (via)
ONE: Gazelle Twin - UNFLESH (Anti Ghost Moon Ray)
TWO: Scott Walker & Sunn O))) - Soused (4AD)
THREE: Swans - To Be Kind (Mute)
FOUR: East India Youth - TOTAL STRIFE FOREVER (Stolen)
FIVE: The Bug - Angels & Devils (Big Dada)
SIX: Grumbling Fur - Preternaturals (TQPC)
SEVEN: Katie Gately - Pipes (Blue Tapes)
EIGHT: Manic Street Preachers - Futurology (Sony)
NINE: Perc - The Power And The Glory (Perc Trax)
TEN: Jenny Hval & Susanna - Meshes Of Voice (SusannaSonata)
ELEVEN: FKA twigs - LP1 (Young Turks)
TWELVE: Zamilska - Untune (self-released)
THIRTEEN: Inner City Ensemble - Black/White (Instant Classic)
FOURTEEN: Cooly G - Wait 'Til Night (Hyperdub)
FIFTEEN: Blacknecks - 006 (self-released)
SIXTEEN: English Heretic - The Underworld Service (self-released)
SEVENTEEN: Freddie Gibbs and Madlib - Piñata (Madlib Invasion)
EIGHTEEN: OAKE - Auferstehung (Downwards)
NINETEEN: Grouper - Ruins (Kranky)
TWENTY: Kemper Norton - Loor (Front And Follow)
TWENTY ONE: Maurice Louca - Benhayyi Al-Baghbaghan (Nawa)
TWENTY TWO: Andy Stott - Faith In Strangers (Modern Love)
TWENTY THREE: EEK ft. Islam Chipsy - Live At The Cairo High Cinema Institute (Nashazphone)
TWENTY FOUR: Jane Weaver - Silver Globe (Bird)
TWENTY FIVE: Daniel Patrick Quinn - Acting The Rubber Pig (self-released)
TWENTY SIX: The Body - I Shall Die Here (RVNG Intl.)
TWENTY SEVEN: Chrononautz - Public Domain Fuckover Series #1-6 (self-released)
TWENTY EIGHT: Pharmakon - Bestial Burden (Sacred Bones)
TWENTY NINE: Tweedy - Sukierae (dBpm Records)
THIRTY: Objekt - Flatland (PAN)
THIRTY ONE: Jar Moff - Financial Glam (PAN)
THIRTY TWO: Willie The Kid & Bronze Nazareth - The Living Daylights (Embassy)
THIRTY THREE: Lorenzo Senni - Superimpositions (Boomkat)
THIRTY FOUR: Electric Wizard - Time To Die (Spinefarm)
THIRTY FIVE: Klara Lewis - ETT (Editions Mego)
THIRTY SIX: Kassem Mosse - Workshop 19 (Workshop)
THIRTY SEVEN: Extreme Precautions - Precaution One (In Paradisum)
THIRTY EIGHT: Kasai Allstars - Beware The Fetish (Crammed Discs)
THRITY NINE: Arabrot - I Modi (Fysisk Format)
FORTY: Einsturzende Neubauten - Lament (BMG)
FORTY ONE: The Inward Circles - Nimrod (self-released)
FORTY TWO: Bohren & Der Club Of Gore - Piano Nights (Ipecac)
FORTY THREE: Future Islands - Singles (4AD)
FORTY FOUR: Consumer Electronics - Estuary English (Dirter)
FORTY FIVE: BONG - Stoner Rock (Ritual)
FORTY SIX: Nisennenmondai - N (BLAST First (petite))
FORTY SEVEN: Wild Beasts - Present Tense (Domino)
FORTY EIGHT: Olga Bell - Krai (One Little Indian)
FORTY NINE: Cut Hands - Festival Of The Dead (Blackest Ever Black)
FIFTY: Xiu Xiu - Angel Guts, Red Classroom (Bella Union)
FIFTY ONE: Actress - Ghettoville (Werkdiscs)
FIFTY TWO: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend (Neurot)
FIFTY THREE: Owen Pallett - In Conflict (Domino)
FIFTY FOUR: Puce Mary - Persona (Posh Isolation)
FIFTY FIVE: DonChristian - Renzo Piano (Camp & Street)
FIFTY SIX: Ibibio Sound Machine - Ibibio Sound Machine (Soundway)
FIFTY EIGHT: Leyland Kirby Presents V/Vm - The Death Of Rave (A Partial Flashback) (History Always Favours The Winners)
FIFTY NINE: Laibach - Spectre (Mute)
SIXTY: Shellac - Dude Incredible (Touch And Go)
SIXTY ONE: Heterotic - Weird Drift (Planet Mu)
SIXTY TWO: Liars - Mess (Mute)
SIXTY THREE: Stein Urheim - Stein Urheim (Hubro)
SIXTY FOUR: Ekoplekz - Unfidelity (Planet Mu)
SIXTY FIVE: St. Vincent - St. Vincent (Loma Vista)
SIXTY SIX: Sunn O))) & Ulver - Terrestrials (Southern Lord)
SIXTY SEVEN: Russell Haswell - 37 Minute Workout (DIAGONAL)
SIXTY EIGHT: Noura Mint Seymali - Tzenni (Glitterbeat)
SIXTY NINE: Stephen O'Malley, Oren Ambarchi & Randall Dunn - Shade Themes From Kairos (Drag City)
SEVENTY: Apollo Brown - Blasphemy (Mello Music Group)
SEVENTY ONE: The Budos Band - Burnt Offering (Daptone)
SEVENTY TWO: Anat Ben David - MeleCh (self-released)
SEVENTY THREE: Yvette - Process (Godmode)
SEVENTY FOUR: milo - a toothpaste suburb (Hellfyre Club)
SEVENTY FIVE: Merkabah - Moloch (Instant Classic)
SEVENTY SIX: Wrangler - LA Spark (Memetune)
SEVENTY SEVEN: Ronika - Selectadisc (Record Shop)
SEVENTY EIGHT: Bing & Ruth - Tomorrow Was The Golden Age (Happy Talk)
SEVENTY NINE: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste (Prospect)
EIGHTY: DJ Q - Ineffable (Local Action)
EIGHTY ONE: The Soft Pink Truth - Why Do The Heathen Rage? (Thrill Jockey)
EIGHTY TWO: Vince Staples - Hell Can Wait (Def Jam Recordings)
EIGHTY THREE: Tinariwen - Emmar (ANTI-)
EIGHTY FOUR: The Juan Maclean - In A Dream (DFA)
EIGHTY FIVE: Aphex Twin - Syro (WARP)
EIGHTY SIX: Toumani & Sidiki Diabate - Toumani & Sidiki Diabate (World Circuit)
EIGHTY SEVEN: Selim Lemouchi & His Enemies - Earth Air Spirit Fire Water (Van)
EIGHTY EIGHT: Behemoth - The Satanist (Nuclear Blast)
EIGHTY NINE: Wrekmeister Harmonies - Then It Came Down (Thrill Jockey)
NINETY: Fumaca Preta - Fumaca Preta (Soundway)
NINETY ONE: Scott Miller, Lee Camfield & Merzbow - No Closure (Cold Spring)
NINETY TWO: Black Rain - Dark Pool (Blackest Ever Black)
NINETY THREE: Anthroprophh - Outside The Circle (Rocket)
NINETY FOUR: Adult Jazz - Gist Is (Spare Thought)
NINETY FIVE: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire (Avalanche)
NINETY SIX: Obake - Mutations (Rare Noise)
NINETY SEVEN: Clark - Clark (WARP)
NINETY EIGHT: Joseph Curwen - Shunned House (City)
NINETY NINE: Echoes Of Yul - Tether (Zoharum)
ONE HUNDRED: Good Throb - Fuck Off (self-released)

More From Brooklyn Vegan