The winner for the BBC Sound of 2019 has been announced, and it's UK rapper Octavian, who's been endorsed by Drake and also landed on Pitchfork's 100 Best Songs of 2018. He's the first rapper to win the award since 50 Cent won the very first 'BBC Sound Of' award in 2003.

The runner ups are King Princess at #2, Grace Carter at #3, slowthai at #4, and Rosalía at #5. You can read more here. Previous 'Sound Of' winners include Adele, Haim, Sam Smith, and more.

Stream Octavian's 2018 debut album SPACEMAN below. He also has an upcoming Europe/UK tour (dates and tickets here).

More From Brooklyn Vegan