Of Montreal return with a new album, titled lousy with sylvianbriar, on October 8 via their longtime label Polyvinyl. That's the cover art above. The record was recorded in San Francisco with engineer Drew Vandenberg (Deerhunter, Toro y Moi), with the full OM band, and was made in only three weeks. Says main man Kevin Barnes:

I knew I wanted the process to be more in line with the way people used to make albums in the late 60s and early 70s. I wanted to work fast and to maintain a high level of spontaneity and immediacy. I wanted the songs to be more lyric driven, and for the instrumental arrangements to be understated and uncluttered.

There's definitely a '70s vibe to first single "fugitive air," with some very prominent slide guitar. You can stream it -- and check out the album's tracklist -- below.


of Montreal - lousy with sylvianbriar tracklist
1. fugitive air
2. obsidian currents
3. belle glade missionaries
4. sirens of your toxic spirit
5. colossus
6. triumph of disintegration
7. amphibian days
8. she ain't speakin' now
9. hegira émigré
10. raindrop in my skull
11. imbecile rages