Psych rock icon and 13th Floor Elevators frontman Roky Erickson sadly passed away at the age of 71 on Friday (5/31). His fellow artists have taken to social media to pay tribute to the hugely influential musician, including Okkervil River, Anton Newcombe of The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, Primal Scream, Dinosaur Jr., Mark Lanegan, Billy Gibbons of ZZ Top, Clinic, Ryley Walker, Spoon, Chuck Prophet, Damian Abraham of Fucked Up, Power Trip, Cedric Bixler-Zavala of At The Drive-In, Carl Newman of The New Pornographers, Neko Case, Garbage, Sean Lennon, Death Valley Girls, Oneohtrix Point Never, Optimo, Levitation Festival (which was named after a 13th Floor Elevators song, and hosted their 2015 reunion), pioneering cyperpunk writer William Gibson, record store Amoeba Music, Matador Records co-owner Gerard Cosloy, Tom Scharpling, and more. See their tributes below.

Speaking to The Guardian, Billy Gibbons said, "It’s almost unfathomable to contemplate a world without Roky Erickson. He created his own musical galaxy and early on was a true inspiration."

More From Brooklyn Vegan