As promised, Old Man Gloom's new album Seminar VIII: Light of Meaning is arriving in May, and it now has an exact release date (May 22 via Profound Lore) and the first single is here. It's called "EMF," and it's a killer dose of psychedelic sludge metal that leans more on the punk/hardcore side than you might usually expect from Old Man Gloom. We are very excited to hear more where this came from. Listen and check out the tracklist below.

Old Man Gloom's lineup on this album does include the late Caleb Scofield (so that means last year's Cave In album weren't the only recordings Caleb had left behind?), as well as Santos Montano (Zozobra), Aaron Turner (Isis, Sumac), Nate Newton (Converge), and Stephen Brodsky (Cave In). It includes recording and mixing by Converge's Kurt Ballou, as well as recording by Matt Bayles (Isis, Botch, Mastodon, etc) and mixing by Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth, etc).

In related news, Stephen Brodsky and his Mutoid Man bandmate (and Converge drummer) Ben Koller joined members of Khemmis and Thou to cover Weird Al in a self-isolation edition of Two Minutes to Late Night. Watch here.

1. EMF
2. Wrath Of The Weary
3. True Volcano
4. Final Defeat
5. Calling You Home
6. By Love All Is Healed

More From Brooklyn Vegan