Olden Yolk began as a solo project for Quilt's Shane Butler but it has grown to include fellow multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Caity Shaffer, and is now a four-piece band. (Quilt fans, don't worry, they're still together.) The self-titled debut album by Olden Yolk will be out Febraury 23 via Trouble in Mind, and was recorded by Woods' Jarvis Taveniere with co-production by Jon Nellen (Ginla, Terrible Records). The record also features Quilt's John Andrews and violinist Jake Falby (Mutual Benefit, Julie Byrne). The first single is "Takes One to Know One" which doesn't stray too far from Quilt's krauty psych-folk, which is just fine as this is pretty great, with skittering, Can-inspired drumming driving the delicate melody and arrangement. Of the song, Shane and Caity say:

“Takes One to Know One" is a play on the phrase typically meant to assign blame through commonality. Its use in the song is closer to an acceptance of our collective situation rather than a belittlement of it. It was written in our hometown of New York City -- an iconic place whose icons (monuments, buildings, public art) are continually morphing and breaking down, shifting whatever former meaning had once been assigned to them.

You can watch the video for "Takes One to Know One," and check out the album's artwork and tracklist, below.

Olden Yolk will celebrate the release of their album at Brooklyn's Union Pool on February 24 with John Andrews & The Yawns and Nighttime opening. Tickets are on sale.


Olden Yolk tracklist:
1. Verdant
2. Cut To The Quick
3. Gamblers On A Dime
4. Vital Sign
5. Aria
6. Common Ground
7. Hen's Teeth
8. Esprit De Corps
9. After Us
10. Takes One To Know One

More From Brooklyn Vegan