Queer pop punks Pansy Division put out a handful of great records in the '90s (mostly on Lookout! Records), and though their output has slowed down considerably, they've stayed active. This year they'll release Quite Contrary, their first album since 2009, on September 9 via their current label home, Alternative Tentacles (pre-order). The first single is "He's Trouble," which is an instantly-catchy dose of Ramones-inspired pop punk, not too far removed from the kind of stuff Pansy Division were best known for two decades ago. It's proof that this band still has plenty to say, and you can hear it for yourself below (via Stereogum).

We recently mentioned that Pansy Division have an upcoming NYC show, which is part of a larger tour. It happens September 24 at Sunnyvale. Tickets are on sale now. All dates are listed below.

01. He’s Trouble
02. Love Came Along
03. You’re On The Phone
04. Kiss Me At Midnight (New Year’s Eve)
05. Halfway To Nowhere
06. Work On It, Babe
07. I’m The Friend
08. Blame The Bible
09. Mistakes
10. It’s A Sin
11. My Heart Aches For You
12. (Is This What It’s Like) Getting Old
13. Too Much To Ask
14. Something Beautiful


Pansy Division -- 2016 Tour Dates
09/20 Somerville, MA @ ONCE Ballroom
09/21 Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie
09/22 Washington, DC @ Hill Country Live DC
09/23 Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery
09/24 Brooklyn, NY @ Sunnyvale
11/04 San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
11/05 Long Beach, CA @ Alex’s Bar
11/06 Palm Springs, CA @ Pride Festival
11/09 Seattle, WA @ Funhouse
11/10 Portland, OR @ Dante’s
11/11 San Francisco, CA @ Bottom Of The HIll
11/12 Los Angeles, CA @ Viper Room


If you're unfamiliar, stream Pansy Division's great 1994 album Deflowered:

More From Brooklyn Vegan