Patti Smith and her daughter Jesse teamed up with Soundwalk Collective (aka Stephan Crasneanscki, Simone Merli, and Kamran Sadeghi) for a tribute to Nico at the 2014 Crossing the Line festival in New York, and they're now turning that project into an album, KIller Road. The album features Patti reading poetry written by Nico over music by Soundwalk Collective, and also heavily features the usage of Nico's harmonium, which Patti bought from a pawn shop in 1978. The album will be out on September 2 via Sacred Bones (pre-order).

The title track is out now, and it "features Patti reciting poetry written by Nico before her death that, until now, has remained unreleased." Check it out below.

In other news, Patti Smith and Her Band are opening for Bon Iver on October 23 at LA's Hollywood Bowl, which so far is Bon Iver's only US show of 2016 besides the Eaux Claires Music & Arts Festival. The show also has Hiss Golden Messenger playing. Tickets go on sale Friday (6/17) at 10 AM PDT. Flyer below.

Bon Iver Patti Smith
Patti Smith Killer Road

Killer Road Tracklist:
1. Killer Road
2. My Heart Is Empty
3. Evening of Light
4. Saeta
5. Secret Side
6. Fearfully In Danger
7. I Will Be Seven
8. The Sphinx
9. My Only Child

More From Brooklyn Vegan