Pavement's iconic debut album, Slanted and Enchanted, turns 30 today -- happy birthday! -- and to celebrate they've announced new vinyl and cassette pressings that will be out August 12 via Matador Records, as part of their Revisionist History series.

The new vinyl edition comes on red, white and black splatter vinyl that matches the album art and you can preorder it in our shop.

The cassette, meanwhile, is especially cool. Titled "Courting Shutdown Orders," it's a recreation of the handmade tape version of the album they sent out to prospective labels in 1991, and it features a different running order, some different songs, and few songs that had different titles. That's available exclusively through Madator's store and you can check out the tracklists below.

Pavement founders Stephen Malkmus and Scott "Spiral Stairs" Kannberg are also guests on the latest episode of Matador's Revisionist History podcast where they talk with Matt Sweeney about 30 years of Slanted and Enchanted, the new Terror Twilight deluxe edition, Pavement's upcoming reunion tour, and more.

If you don't want to wait till August, you can pick up the black vinyl edition of Slanted and Enchanted, along with Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain and Wowee Zowee on vinyl in the BV shop.

Pavement just released the Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal deluxe edition, and celebrated the 25th anniversary of Brighten the Corners in February. They'll be on their reunion tour this fall.


1. Summer Babe (Winter Version)
2. Trigger Cut / Wounded-Kite At :17
3. No Life Signed Her
4. In the Mouth a Desert
5. Conduit For Sale!
6. Zurich Is Stained
7. Chesley’s Little Wrists
8. Loretta’s Scars
9. Here
10. Two States
11. Perfume-V
12. Fame Throwa
13. Jackals, False Grails: The Lonesome Era
14. Our Singer


1. Chesley’s Little Wrists
2. Jackals, False Grails: The Lonesome Era
3. No Life Signed Her
4. Two States
5. Trigger Cut
6. Fame Throwa
7. Pain Smiles
8. The Wounded Kite
9. Summer Babe
10. Perfume-V
11. My First Mine
12. Baptist Blacktick
13. Loretta’s Scars
14. Pillowjack
15. Here

More From Brooklyn Vegan