Former Pavement guitarist Spiral Stairs (aka Scott Kannberg) will release his second solo album under that name, titled Doris and the Daggers, on March 24 via Nine Mile. It's his fourth solo album overall -- he released two as Preston School of Industry -- and it features appearances by Matt Berninger of The National, Broken Social Scene's Kevin Drew and Justin Peroff, as well as Kelley Stoltz and Shudder To Think's Adam WadePreorders are available now and artwork and tracklist are below.

Kannberg doesn't stray too far from what he's known for on the new LP, but he's in especially fine form (by far his best solo record), with moments of wry humor and emotional honesty as well. The album opens with "Dance (Cry Wolf)," which adds just the slightest hint of goth to his repertoire, and you can watch the sci-fi/horror tinged video for it (directed by Joe Saslinas) below.

Spiral Stairs will be touring later this year, but so far his only announced appearance is SXSW so look for him if you'll be in Austin in March.


Spiral Stairs - Doris and the Daggers tracklist:
1. Dance (Cry Wolf)
2. Emoshuns
3. Dundee Man
4. AWM
5. No Comparison
6. The Unconditional
7. Trams (Stole My Love)
8. Exiled Tonight
9. Angel Eyes
10. Doris and the Daggers

More From Brooklyn Vegan