The great composer Philip Glass is just days away from his 80th birthday celebration at Carnegie Hall (1/31), and it's now been revealed that he'll also hold the 'Richard and Barbara Debs Composer’s Chair' position for Carnegie Hall's 2017-2018 season. So far, his schedule includes concerts from December 2017 through April 2018. Here are some highlights:

On February 8, 2018 in Zankel Hall, it's Nico Muhly and Friends Investigate the Glass Archive, which will have Nico reimagining some of Glass's lesser known music with an ensemble that includes Laurie Anderson and more (tickets).

The Philip Glass Ensemble performs Music With Changing Parts at the Perelman Stage/Stern Auditorium on February 16, 2018 (tickets).

Experimental drumming ensemble So Percussion teams with the JACK Quartet for an evening of premieres, including one by Glass, on March 6, 2018 in Zankel Hall (tickets).

More info and tickets for all shows here. Full schedule and an announcement video, below.

Not at Carnegie Hall but the Philip Glass Ensemble will be performing Glass' interpretation of Jean Cocteau's masterpiece La Belle et la Bête at Town Hall on April 20 as part of the Tribeca Film Festival. Tickets are on sale.


In other Philip Glass news, the lineup has been expanded for the 2017 Tibet House US benefit, which Glass is the artistic director of. The new additions are blues rockers Alabama Shakes and singer/songwriter Ben Harper, and they join Sufjan Stevens, Iggy Pop, Patty Smith, Laurie Anderson, and New Order members Bernard Sumner, Phil Cunningham and Tom Chapman (among others). The concert happens March 16 at Carnegie Hall. Tickets are still available. Updated liineup below.

Philip Glass: The 2017–2018 Richard and Barbara Debs Composer’s Chair
12/8/17 American Composers Orchestra
02/08/18 Nico Muhly and Friends Investigate the Glass Archive
02/16/18 Philip Glass Ensemble: Music with Changing Parts
02/27/18 Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra
03/06/18 So Percussion / JACK Quartet
04/21/18 Pacific Symphony


2017 Tibet House US Benefit Lineup
Philip Glass, Artistic Director
Laurie Anderson
Ben Harper
New Order’s Bernard Sumner, Tom Chapman, and Phil Cunningham
Iggy Pop
Alabama Shakes
Sufjan Stevens
Patti Smith and her Band
Tenzin Choegyal and Jesse Paris Smith
Scorchio Quartet
Lavinia Meijer

More From Brooklyn Vegan