Arthur Russell died in 1992 but left a lot of music unreleased. That includes Corn, an album featuring nine tracks Russell recorded in 1982 and 1983 that was intended for a 1985 release that never happened. A few of the songs surfaced on the 2004 compilation Calling Out of Context but all versions of Corn are previously unreleased. You can stream "Ocean Movie" and check out the album's tracklist below. Corn will be released June 9 via Audika Records.

As mentioned, there are some Arthur Russell events coming up in May as part of this year's Red Bull Music Academy, including the two-night Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell tribute concerts at BAM on May 29 & 30 featuring Sam Amidon, Cults, Jake Shears (Scissor Sisters) Redding Hunter, Dev Hynes, Thao Nguyen, Richard Reed Parry (Arcade Fire), Rubblebucket, Little Scream and more. Tickets are still available.

There's also the tribute to Russell's Sleeping Bag Records at Good Room on May 31, featuring Kurtis Mantronik, onetime Studio 54 DJ Nicky Siano and Morgan Geist (Metro Area). Tickets for that night are available at the door.


Arthur Russell - Corn tracklist:
01 Lucky Cloud
02 Corn
03 Keeping Up
04 See My Brother, He's Jumping Out (Let's Go Swimming #2)
05 This Is How We Walk on the Moon
06 Corn (Continued)
07 Hiding Your Present From You
08 They and Their Friends
09 Ocean Movie