The COVID-19 virus has caused the cancellation or postponement of SXSW, Coachella, Ultra, Big Ears, Treefort, and other spring music festivals. One of the biggest upcoming destination festivals is Primavera Sound, which holds its Barcelona edition the first weekend in June with Pavement, The Strokes, The Jesus & Mary Chain, Einstürzende Neubauten, Bad Bunny, Beck, Bikini Kill, Brittany Howard, Brockhampton, Caribou, Disclosure, Iggy Pop, Kacey Musgraves and lots more. There's also the NOS Primavera Sound Porto festival the weekend after (June 11-13) with Pavement, Tyler the Creator, Bad Bunny, Beck, Lana Del Rey, King Krule, and more. For now, both Primavera's are still on, as the festival says in a statement today that leaves room for other possibilities:

With regard to the health emergency caused by COVID-19, the main goal of Primavera Sound at this time is to guarantee the safety and well-being of our audience, of the artists and of all the people involved in the festival. For this reason we are closely following the evolution of the events and we are in contact with the local institutions and health authorities with whom we will always align before taking any decision. For the moment, we are working from home on the planning and organisation of this year’s editions of Primavera Sound Barcelona and NOS Primavera Sound Porto. But we are also studying other possibilities so that the festival can be held this year.

Our priority right now is to overcome the health emergency we are experiencing, but we are not forgetting you and we know what the festival means to many people. So, first of all, thank you very much for your patience and understanding.

We also want to thank all the people who have expressed their interest in the celebration of the festival over the past few days, but above all we want to show our love and support to all those who have been affected by the current global health crisis and to all the communities that are helping to solve it. Please follow all the indications of the competent authorities and take good care of yourselves.

Once again, thank you very much for your trust. As always, we will communicate any news through our usual channels. See you soon.

Meanwhile, Primavera Sound's inaugural Los Angeles edition is set to happen September 19 & 20 at L.A. State Historic Park. No word on the lineup for that yet.

Primavera Sound Barcelona and Porto are the only Pavement shows happening this year and frontman Stephen Malkmus says there are no other plans for the band beyond that. The March/April leg of Malkmus' solo tour, however, has been postponed. (That includes the NYC show at Webster Hall on April 13.) "Postponed dates are a bummer but be assured we’re still excited to play for y’all, even if we have to rehearse bi coastal style," Steve noted in an Instagram video you can watch below. "We’ll see y’all in June and July and beyond." Malkmus dates are below.

Stephen Malkmus – 2020 Tour Dates:
Tue. March 31 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave
Wed. April 1 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall
Thu. April 2 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Fri. April 3 – Louisville, KY @ Headliners
Sat. April 4 – Nashville, TN @ Cannery Ballroom
Sun. April 5 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Tue. April 7 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel
Wed. April 8 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Thu. April 9 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Fri. April 10 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Sat. April 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Mon. April 13 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Wed. April 15 – Boston, MA @ Royale
Thu. April 16 – Montreal, QC @ L’Astral
Fri. April 17 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Sat. April 18 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
Sun. April 19 – Detroit, MI @ St. Andrew’s Hall
Fri. June 26 – Vancouver, BC @ Imperial
Sat. June 27 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
Sun. June 28 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Tue. June 30 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Wed. July 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre
Thu. July 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
Fri. July 3 – Santa Fe, NM @ TBD
Sat. July 4 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace
Mon. July 6 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Tue. July 7 – Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater
Wed. July 8 – Oklahoma City, OK @ Tower Theatre
Thu. July 9 – Lawrence, KS @ Granada Theater
Sat. July 11 – Denver, CO @ Gothic Theatre