Instant Love is a collection of classic love songs traditionally sung by men about women, reimagined with female vocalists to "make a statement about love between women as mothers, sisters, friends, lovers and everything in between." The project was spearheaded by Allison Zatarain, formerly of the band Action Painters who now runs Instant Records and started the Instant Love series., and producer Richard Gottehrer (Blondie, The Go-Go's, Richard Hell, Dum Dum Girls).

The latest single in the series is sung by Rachel Fannan of The Bomb/Only You and formerly of Sleepy Sun, who takes on Beach Boys classic "Don't Worry Baby." The cover was produced by Sune Rose Wagner of The Raveonettes. Says Fannan, "I grew up just inland of Malibu so I'm admittedly keen on surf rock. This track in particular has always given me butterflies." As for Wagner's involvement, Zatarain adds, "Once we got the LA babe and the LA song, we needed an LA producer to complete it. Of course Sune is from Denmark, but he's got that USA nostalgia going strong, and I think he captured both the essence of the original track and the modern sensibility of a female voice." Rachel's version of "Don't Worry Baby" premieres in this post and you can stream it below.

You can also follow along with the Instant Love project via its "living album" playlist and listen to previous songs in the series below.

More From Brooklyn Vegan