After sharing a few singles, The Smile, the trio of Radiohead's Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood plus Sons of Kemet's Tom Skinner, have now announced their debut album. It's titled A Light for Attracting Attention and will be out May 13 via XL and you can preorder it on yellow vinyl now. Nigel Godrich produced and mixed the album, and in addition to the three principle players, tracks also feature strings by the London Contemporary Orchestra and a full brass section, including Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Robert Stillman and Jason Yarde.

The album's 13 tracks include the previously released "Pana-vision," "Skyrting the Surface," "The Smoke," and "You Will Never Work in Television Again," and they've just shared "Free In The Knowledge." It's a slow building track, starting with just Thom Yorke's voice and a guitar, but it steadily grows across four minutes, with atmospheric synth and strings, before opening wide in the last third.  It comes with an unsettling video from director Leo Leigh that you can watch below.

Preorder The Smile album on vinyl in the BV shop.

The Smile are touring this summer but no dates in North America. Yet. Stay tuned.

attachment-the smile a light for attracting attention

A Light For Attracting Attention: Tracklist
The Same
The Opposite
You Will Never Work in Television Again
The Smoke
Speech Bubbles
Thin Thing
Open The Floodgates
Free In The Knowledge
A Hairdryer
Waving A White Flag
We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings
Skrting On The Surface

More From Brooklyn Vegan