by Andrew Sacher

Robert Glasper

Jazz/hip hop pianist Robert Glasper is set to release the followup to his excellent 2012 album, Black Radio with a sequel, Black Radio 2, on October 29 via Blue Note. Like its predecessor, the new album has an all-star cast of guests including Common, Marsha Ambrosius, Jill Scott, Brandy, Snoop Dogg, Lupe Fiasco, Emeli Sande, Norah Jones, Faith Evans, Bilal, Jean Grae, Macy Gray, and more. Its lead single is the track "Calls," which features the cooing neo-soul vocals of Jill Scott. That can be streamed, along with the album tracklist, below. That's the artwork above.

UPDATE: Robert released another single from the album, "I Stand Alone," which features Common and Patrick Stump. That can also be streamed (via Rolling Stone) below.

In celebration of the new album, Robert and two of its guests, Common and Marsha Ambrosius, will be doing some shows around the time of its release. One of those happens in NYC the day the record comes out at Best Buy Theater (10/29). Tickets for that show go on sale Friday (9/27) at noon.

Robert is also making some festival appearances ahead of the album's release, including Austin City Limits on October 5 and NJ's New Brunswick Jazz Festival on October 6. Tickets for the jazz festival are on sale now.

All dates are listed, along with the song stream, artwork and tracklist, below...


Robert Glasper - "Calls" (feat. Jill Scott)

Robert Glasper - "I Stand Alone" (feat. Common, Patrick Stump)

Robert Glasper - Black Radio 2 Tracklist:
1. Baby Tonight (Black Radio 2 Theme) / Mic Check 2
2. I Stand Alone featuring Common and Patrick Stump
3. What Are We Doing featuring Brandy
4. Calls featuring Jill Scott
5. Worries featuring Dwele
6. Trust featuring Marsha Ambrosius
7. Yet To Find featuring Anthony Hamilton
8. You Own Me featuring Faith Evans
9. Let It Ride featuring Norah Jones
10. Persevere featuring Snoop Dogg, Lupe Fiasco and Luke James
11. Somebody Else featuring Emeli Sandé
12. Jesus Children of America featuring Lalah Hathaway and Malcolm-Jamal Warner

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:

1. Big Girl Body featuring Eric Roberson
2. You're My Everything featuring Bilal and Jazmine Sullivan
3. I Don't Even Care featuring Jean Grae and Macy Gray
4. Lovely Day (Intro by Bill Withers)

Robert Glasper -- 2013 Tour Dates
Oct 05 Austin City Limits Austin, TX RSVP
Oct 06 New Brunswick Jazz Festival New Brunswick, NJ
Oct 18 SF Jazz San Francisco, CA
Oct 25 Masonic Temple Detroit, MI*
Oct 29 Best Buy Theater New York, NY*
Nov 03 Birchmere Alexandria, VA
Nov 09 H Town Arena Houston, TX*
Nov 14 Club Nokia Los Angeles, CA*

* - w/ Common, Marsha Ambrosius


More From Brooklyn Vegan