Robert Plant remains not just a must-see live act, but also a creative force. His last album, 2014's Lullaby And… The Ceaseless Roar, was recorded with The Sensational Space Shifters (featuring members of Portishead and Massive Attack), and they helped apply a modern sound to Plant's classic blues rock, which worked surprisingly well. He just announced another album with that same backing band, Carry Fire, which is due out on October 13 via Nonesuch/Warner Bros. The first single is "The May Queen," which is a perfect example of how Plant's old soul blends with the Space Shifters' more futuristic sounds. Listen below.

The album also features Chrissie Hynde of The Pretenders duetting with Plant on a cover of Ersel Hickey's much-covered "Bluebirds Over The Mountain," plus Albanian cellist Redi Hasa and viola/fiddle player Seth Lakeman (who's now an official member of the Space Shifters). The full tracklist is below and that's the artwork above. A 2018 world tour is TBA.

1. The May Queen
2. New World...
3. Season's Song
4. Dance With You Tonight
5. Carving Up The World Again... a wall and not a fence
6. A Way With Words
7. Carry Fire
8. Bones Of Saints
9. Keep It Hid
10. Bluebirds Over The Mountain
11. Heaven Sent