New York rap lifer Roc Marciano has been on a roll with very prolific and very consistently good output lately, and he's figured out how to stay loyal to the classic New York rap sound he's had since the beginning without ever seeming retro or out of touch. He already released one album this year, the very solid RR2: The Bitter Dose (which was the sequel to 2017's Rosebudd's Revenge), and today he followed it with a second album of 2018, Behold A Dark Horse. He produced most of the album himself, and there's also production from Q-Tip, Alchemist, and others, and guests include Black Thought (of The Roots), Busta Rhymes, and Knowledge The Pirate. You can purchase the album as a digital download on his website "until (and if) Roc makes it available in other formats." The video for the laid-back, head-nodding album opener "The Horse's Mouth" is below.

Marci plays his hometown TONIGHT (9/18) at Sony Hall and it's an awesome triple bill with groundbreaking local legend Slick Rick and headliner Jay Electronica. Tickets for tonight's show are still available. He's also got a DC show on Friday (9/21).

1. The Horse’s Mouth (prod. by Preservation)
2. Congo (prod. by Roc Marciano)
3. 1000 Deaths (prod. by Roc Marciano)
4. Diamond Cutters f. Black Thought (prod. by Roc Marciano)
5. Amethyst (prod. by Roc Marciano)
6. Sampson & Delilah (prod. by Doncee)
7. No Love f. Knowledge The Pirate (prod. by Roc Marciano)
8. Trojan Horse f. Busta Rhymes (prod. by Roc Marciano)
9. Fabio (prod. by The Alchemist)
10. Secrets (prod. by Roc Marciano)
11. Whoolers (prod. by Animoss)
12. Consigliere (prod. by Q-Tip)

More From Brooklyn Vegan