Roky Erickson and his ace band treated fans to a main set entirely comprised of 13th Floor Elevators songs at his first of two shows at Rough Trade (9/5), kicking things off with "Fire Engine" and playing such classics as "Roller Coaster," "Slip Inside This House," "Reverberation," "(I've Got) Levitation," "She Lives (In a Time of Her Own)," "You're Gonna Miss Me" and more. He encored with a couple solo songs -- check out the setlist below.

Death Valley Girls played a killer opening set, and both they and Roky are back at Rough Trade tonight (9/6, tickets available at the door) and at Jersey City's White Eagle Hall on Friday (9/8, tickets). They'll also both be at Catskills fest Meltasia this weekend.


SETLIST: Roky Erickson @ Rough Trade 9/5/2017
Fire Engine (13th Floor Elevators)
Monkey Island (13th Floor Elevators)
Roller Coaster (13th Floor Elevators)
Slip Inside This House (13th Floor Elevators)
Reverberation (13th Floor Elevators)
Splash 1 (13th Floor Elevators)
Earthquake (13th Floor Elevators)
(I've Got) Levitation (13th Floor Elevators)
She Lives (In a Time of Her Own) (13th Floor Elevators)
Through the Rhythm (13th Floor Elevators)
You Don't Know (13th Floor Elevators)
Tried to Hide (13th Floor Elevators)
Kingdom of Heaven (Is Within You) (13th Floor Elevators)
You're Gonna Miss Me (13th Floor Elevators)

Night of the Vampire
Two Headed Dog (Red Temple Prayer)

photos by Greg Cristman

More From Brooklyn Vegan