Australian band Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever have announced their new album, Sideways To New Italy, which will be released June 5 via Sub Pop. (Their terrific debut, Hope Downs, came out in 2018.) The album gets its title not from the European country but a village near New South Wales’s Northern Rivers that was Venetian immigrants in the late-1800s and is where RBCF drummer Marcel Tussie is from. The sense of displacement but also hope and optimism, inspired by New Italy, runs through the album. "I wanted to write songs that I could use as some sort of bedrock of hopefulness to stand on, something to be proud of,” says Keaney. “A lot of the songs on the new record are reaching forward and trying to imagine an idyll of home and love."

The album contains "Cars In Space" (released in February) and the new single is "She's There." “We tried to convey that feeling in a dream where you need to be somewhere, and you don’t really know why, but you are determined to overcome every obstacle to get there,” says the band. Watch the video for that below.

rolling blackouts coastal fever - Sideways To New Italy

Sideways to New Italy Tracklist:
1.The Second Of The First
2. Falling Thunder
3. She’s There
4. Beautiful Steven
5. The Only One
6. Cars In Space
7. Cameo
8. Not Tonight
9. Sunglasses At The Wedding
10. The Cool Change

More From Brooklyn Vegan