Onetime Pipette member Rose Elinor Dougall will release her second solo album, Stellular, on January 27 via her own Vermillion records. It's been six years since her solo debut, Without Why, but she's been busy, collaborating with Mark Ronson (and touring as part of Business Intl), playing with onetime Let's Wrestle frontman Wesley Gonzalez, and as part of Innerspace Orchestra. The new album was made with Oli Bayston (aka producer Boxed In) with songs co-written by Sean Nicholas Savage and Miike Snow's Andrew Wyatt.

Like her former bandmate Gwenno's solo work (and her brother Tom's band TOY), there's a little icy kruatrock to Rose's sound, but Stellular is a far more pop affair, while still sounding like it was made by a band. (Rose cites Karen Dalton, PJ Harvey, Roisin Murphy and Beth Gibbons as influences here.) It's a great record, and you can check out the video for Stellular's title track below.



Rose Elinor Dougall - Stellular tracklist
1. Colour Of Water
2. Strange Warnings
3. Stellular
4. Closer
5. Take Yourself With You
6. All At Once
7. Answer Me
8. Dive
9. Poison Ivy
10. Hell And Back
11. Space To Be
12. Wanderer

More From Brooklyn Vegan