By Bill Pearis

Saint Etienne

Blur are not the only Britpoppers with a new album in the works. Saint Etienne will release their eighth studio album, Words & Music, on May 21 in the UK. (They're still working out US distribution.) It's the trio's first since 2005's Tales from Turnpike House. In addition to production work by longtime SE cohort Ian Catt, the album features collaborations with hitmakers Richard X (Kelis, Rachel Stevens, Annie) and Xenomania's Tim Powell and Nick Coler (Sugababes, Girls Aloud). What to expect, besides regal, expertly crafted dance music? Saint Etienne sent out this statement:


Do you remember that special alchemy that transforms even the most mundane of experiences - walking home with the headphones on at night, sitting in a bedroom with your friends in the day, getting ready to go out on the weekend - into a lingering moment of seamless enchantment, one that resonates for the rest of your life?

Our new album, Words and Music by Saint Etienne, is about that.
About how music affects your life.
How it defines the way you see the world as a child.
How it can get you through bad times in unexpected ways.
How songs you've known all your life can suddenly develop a new attachment and hurt every time you hear them.

More than how it affects and reflects your life though, the album is about believing in music, living your life by its rules.

You can watch the video to the first single, "Tonight," which was directed by Paul Kelly who made that Lawrence documentary. There were rumors that Saint Etienne might play this year's NYC Popfest (May 17 - 20), but as they're touring Europe in May I guess that's not going to happen. They last played New York in 2006.

The new album will be available in CD, double-CD and vinyl box set versions. You can check out the cover art for Words & Music which at first looks like just a city map, but is filled with famous music streets and locales. And in addition to the "Tonight" video, you can also watch some other classic Saint Etienne clips as well.

Words and Music cover art
Saint Etienne
Words & Music

1. Over the Border
2. I've Got Your Music
3. Heading For the Fair
4. Last Days of Disco
5. Tonight
6. Answer Song
7. Record Doctor
8. Popular
9. 25 Years
10. DJ
11. When I Was Seventeen
12. I Threw it All Away
13. Haunted Jukebox

Saint Etiennie - Tonight

Saint Etienne - Avenue

Saint Etienne - Hug My Soul

Saint Etienne - You're in a Bad Way

Saint Etienne - Sylvie