Saint Etienne's debut album, Foxbase Alpha, turned 25 in September. It was unlike almost anything else at the time, with a crate-digger's love of pop's heart and fringes, not to mention dub, soundtracks, techno, while embraced both indie and then-current UK chart pop. It still sounds great and if you've never checked it out, you can stream below. The group celebrated earlier this month with two special Foxbase Alpha shows at London club Heaven, and you can check out video from those below.

Meanwhile, Saint Etienne have just announced they'll be reissuing the album in a few formats, including a special edition box set. It includes the original album remastered and cut onto two 45RPM discs, in a new gatefold edition of the sleeve, as well as an album's worth of outtakes collected on vinyl for the first time, a 7" of the original version of "Kiss and Make Up" featuring Moira Lambert on vocals, a 28 page book, trading cards, and the album's original press release. It's limited to 2000 copies worldwide and preorders are available beginning Thursday, October 27. Full details on the box set are below.

There will also be a single disc vinyl reissue, as well as a double CD. (They've also got t-shirts, mugs, and totes.) Those will be available beginning 10/27 as well.

In other news, the band are currently recording their ninth album, and are promising details on that soon.



Fox Base Alpha 'Special Edition' Box Set
• The original album remastered and cut onto two twelve inch 45rpm discs for higher fidelity, housed in an exclusive gatefold version of the original sleeve.
• Remains Of The Day, an exclusive album that gathers together ten rare Foxbase Alpha-era recordings from the period most of which are appearing on vinyl for the first time.
• An exclusive one-sided 7" featuring the original, previously unreleased version of 'Kiss And Make Up', featuring 'Only Love Can Break Your Heart' singer Moira Lambert.
• A perfect bound, 12" square, 28 page book featuring many unseen photographs and artefacts from the era, plus a new interview with Bob Stanley by the Guardian's Michael Hann.
• Three 10"x 8" black and white portraits of the group.
• A perforated sheet of Foxbase Alpha trading cards.
• Exact reproductions of the original album press release and biography.
• A digital download code for all of the music.


  1. Saint Etienne - This Is Radio Etienne
  2. Saint Etienne - Only Love Can Break Your Heart
  3. Saint Etienne - Wilson
  4. Saint Etienne - Carnt Sleep
  5. Saint Etienne - Girl VII
  6. Saint Etienne - Spring
  7. Saint Etienne - She's The One
  8. Saint Etienne - Stoned To Say The Least
  9. Saint Etienne - Nothing Can Stop Us
  10. Saint Etienne - Etienne Gonna Die
  11. Saint Etienne - London Belongs To Me
  12. Saint Etienne - Like The Swallow
  13. Saint Etienne - Dilworth's Theme
  14. Saint Etienne - Kiss And Make Up
  15. Saint Etienne - Filthy
  16. Saint Etienne - Chase HQ
  17. Saint Etienne - Sally Space
  18. Saint Etienne - Sweet Pea
  19. Saint Etienne - The Reckoning
  20. Saint Etienne - People Get Real
  21. Saint Etienne - Winter In America
  22. Saint Etienne - Speedwell
  23. Saint Etienne - Fake 88
  24. Saint Etienne - kiss and make up (Demo)

More From Brooklyn Vegan